an occasional indoor presentation from
the illuminated corridor



final show of the series


8pm  |  $6 - $10 sliding scale
$5 myBART members

september 10, 2009

luggage store gallery
san francisco

brief works of
astonishing duration

evelyn ficarra
and ian winters
with heather frasch

Filmmaker Ian Winters is collaborating with composer Evelyn Ficarra and experimental flutist Heather Frasch to create an immersive work for live music and digital video: short films about water / submarine premiered in 2008 and has toured internationally. Inspired by a shared fascination of things above and below water, and the passage of time the films observe up to 12 sites around the globe where sea meets land meets history, and which may submerge in coming years. The project is embedded in the age-old (and present) fascination with sea – visually and sonically mapping place-specific worlds of water, shipwreck, geography, listening and loss.

bill hsu with moe! staiano
Electronic musician, pianist and educator, Bill will debut new work for interactive video and sound based on his interest in real-time performance systems that have some of the live, tactile qualities of good human musicians playing acoustic instruments. Bill's work mostly involves using gestural interfaces to control synthesis, and building systems that interact with human performers.

tim perkis
Musician and documentary filmmaker Tim will premiere new video work based on recent experimentation. He has been working in the medium of live electronic and computer sound for many years, performing, exhibiting installation works and recording in North America, Europe and Japan. His work has largely been concerned with exploring the emergence of life-like properties in complex systems of interaction. In addition, he is a well known performer in the world of improvised music, having performed on his electronic improvisation instruments with hundreds of artists and groups, including Chris Brown, John Butcher, Eugene Chadbourne, Fred Frith, Gianni Gebbia, Frank Gratkowski, Luc Houtkamp, Yoshi Ichiraku, Joelle Leandre, Roscoe Mitchell, Gino Robair, ROVA saxophone quartet, Elliott Sharp, Leo Wadada Smith and John Zorn.






about  |  contact  |  support